It’s Been a While

I’ve always struggling with the idea of keeping a blog, though I do enjoy reading other people’s thoughts. I suppose I just thought it was a bit presumptuous to assume that anyone would want to know the mess that’s going on inside my head. So each time I would sit down to write, that thought would be floating around. To some extent, that has kept me away for almost a year.

But I don’t think that’s the only reason. I think there’s a fear of letting people know everything that’s going on in my head. It can be almost overwhelming of letting people in; especially for us preacher types. We live in enough of a fish bowl. Why would I want to make it any worse?

There’s one other fear that has kept me from sharing my thoughts . . . what people will think about what I am thinking. Will they judge me? Will they ignore me? Will they be offended and get mad? To some extent (though I’m still not sure how much), I think those fears are justified. I’m apart of a larger faith heritage that can be pretty judgmental when we want to. We can be exclusive and sometimes even mean. I know, I’ve given and received my share judgment and meaness (not sure that’s a word?).

The one thought that I keep coming back to is that I have been judgmental to my own church family by assuming they might react in that same manner. I think I’ve been completely wrong on that. No, I know I’ve been completely wrong on that. I am so blessed to worship with and minister to a community of believers that values peace and unity and love. That’s really cool. Do I run the risk of being an irritant. Sure, but I do that just by showing up. So I’m banking on the idea that sharing a few thoughts can’t make it any worse. Plus, while I have certainly had time to learn and experience the grace that permeates through my community, I hope at the same time they have come to know me for who I am and who I strive to be. I’m hoping that will bank me a little extra grace. 

With that in mind I think it’s time to start pouring out some of the thoughts that have been in process over the past year. May God bless you and keep you.

6 thoughts on “It’s Been a While

  1. Sherry Holmes

    Good to have you back sharing with the greater faith community… I’ve enjoyed your earlier posts and have come to know you through Teri & Jeff. Keep up the “good work” and faith…I think
    you’re on to something!!! (I follow Terry Rush & Brian Mashburn’s blogs and appreciate all of your thoughts.)

    Like

  2. Wil Perkins

    For the reasons you’ve listed, I’ve never wanted to put my thoughts to paper. I’d love for us to be able to get together to wrestle with the Scriptures.

    Like

    1. Hi Wil,
      I’d like that too. You should check out How to Read the Bible by McKenzie. It’s popularly written but really packs a punch. It’s left me shaking my head and working through some things. You’ve probably already heard some of it at Lipscomb. But I wonder if you would process it differently after reading McKenzie. He was raised in the Church of Christ and got his undergrad at ACU and then went off Harvard. His brother and Dad are both CofC preachers. I’d love to discuss that material with you and see what you think.
      J

      Like

Leave a Reply

